Not All Kentucky Girls Bleed Blue!

Since the Wildcats victory over the Mountaineers yesterday, my voicemail and facebook inboxes have been flooded with “what happened at the UK game” and “how bout them cats” messages.  I’m a big girl, I can suck it up and say that they beat my Mountaineers.  However, it wouldn’t matter to me if they were playing the west wing of a geriatric center, there is still no way I’d cheer for the University of Kentucky. 

I come from a family of die hard UK fans.  As a child I would witness some pretty crazy behavior during UK games.  Before long, I was so sick of hearing “UK this, UK that” and “Rick Pitino says this”.  I was also present when my uncle jumped up out of his seat and stomped so hard that he fell through the floor of my grandma’s house, when UK messed up a play.  I guess my rebellion phase set in early, because I always cheered for every team that WASN’T UK. As I grew into the lady that I am, I held onto that rebellion.  I did, however, raise my standards as to what teams I would cheer for.  Now, if its not Ohio State or WVU, I’m not interested.  I always love to hear that UK gets shutdown, especially when it’s by a team that sucks more than they do!

I am not so stuck in my ways that I can’t admit that they have some really talented players.  Brandon Knight really impressed me in yesterday’s game.  I believe he made something like 6 free throws in the final minute of the game.  Their game was strong in the second half. 

I guess that their win over West Virginia yesterday has its perks… Now we will get to see Ohio State slaughter the Cats next Friday!!
GO BUCKS!!

Leave a comment

Filed under College Basketball

Leave a comment